Home > Food, Motherhood, People > Doctor’s appointment and gestational diabetes test

Doctor’s appointment and gestational diabetes test

When it came time for my doctor’s appointment during my 28th week, I was tested for gestational diabetes. Basically, I had to eat one and a half Milky Way bars an hour before my appointment and the lab tech would draw my blood to see if I have gestational diabetes. At first I was so excited about getting a free pass on the Milky Way bars. Unfortunately by the end of half a bar, I felt sick, like I was going to seriously pass out or gag. I haven’t had this much sugar in the longest time. Mind you, I don’t even take any sugar in my tea or coffee!

At any rate, when I got to my doctor’s office, the nurses rushed me into the lab tech’s office to make sure blood was drawn exactly one hour after I finished the bars. From there on, it was the usual wait for the doctor to finish with her other patients before she got to me. Everything else was fine.

The gestational diabetes test results are in tomorrow but I think I’m gonna pass my test with flying colors.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

