Home > Food, Restaurant Review > Some quick restaurant reviews * Springfield/Alexandria

Some quick restaurant reviews * Springfield/Alexandria

Tommy, a good friend of ours, opened up a Thai restaurant, Tommy Thai (tommythairestaurant.com), in Springfield, VA about a week ago. The decor is typical, contemporary Asian, with alot of black, reds and even a green tea color on the walls. Very clean and sleek.

When we went to the soft opening of the restaurant, my husband and I ordered the pad see ew and crying tiger as our entrees, both of which were pretty good. I think we’re going back soon to try the other items on the menu. I’m eyeing the chef’s special of fried fish and the pad kee mao noodle dish, but who knows what we’ll be in the mood for? I’ll try to write a more detailed review after I go back for seconds.

Speaking of moods, the other night, my husband and I were in the mood for seafood so we headed out to a new (to us) restaurant in the Kingstowne, Alexandria area: Bonefish Grill (bonefishgrill.com). According to the host, the seafood is brought in fresh on a daily basis. I actually went to the website before posting this entry and it looks like the Grill is affiliated with Ocean Trust and seeks to be responsible fishbuyers. That’s a plus in my book.

Another plus is the good service at this restaurant. When we ate there on Thursday night, the Bonefish Grill was slightly busy with two big birthday parties/groups. I was surprised that the service didn’t suffer despite the large groups and our waitress was quite pleasant and interesting. Also, the person who seated us gave us a nice introduction to the restaurant when we told him it was our first time there and then he made several recommendations on the menu to help us get started. After debating over what to get, I ordered the filet and crabcake dinner which came with succatash and a side of string beans. My hubby ordered the grilled grouper with a mango chutney sauce, succatash and potato au gratin. My crab cake was mostly lump and the remoulade was one of the tastiest I’ve had in the metro DC area. The filet was not as tender as I’d like but what did I expect at a seafood restaurant, right? Also, the filet tasted a little gamey to me. My husband says it’s because it’s lightly seasoned so you can really taste the meat. That sort of explains it…. The succatash was quite hearty; it was a mix of corn and soy beans. The soy beans added a nice consistency to the corn. To stay on the healthy side, I had the string beans in addition to the other veggies. The string beans were just okay.

A couple of things to note is that there are some specials on food and drinks, probably depending on the time of the day and that drinks that evening were $5/cocktail. I wish I could have tried some. There was also a delicious sounding entree of fish and chips that seemed to be pretty popular and came in at about $10.

All in all, I really wanted to find another restaurant in the Springfield/Alexandria area like Mike’s American Grill. I wish I could say that Bonefish was close but I’m reserving my judgment. Maybe after sampling more of the menu, I’ll find a specialty dish that I’ll just have to keep coming back to.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

